Twitter launches new feature for more control on own tweets
Twitter is introducing the «Conversation Settings» feature. This allows users to prevent unwanted replies from the start and moderate the conversation with other users that their tweet initiates.

The new function is intended to give Twitter users more control over the conversations under their own tweets. Even before tweeting, users can choose from three options as to who can reply to their tweet:
- all (default setting on Twitter)
- only people you follow yourself
- only people who are mentioned in their own tweet.
Tweets with the latter two settings will be marked accordingly and the reply icon will be grayed out for people who cannot reply. However, people who cannot reply can still view, retweet, retweet with comment, share and like these tweets.

Test phase since May
Twitter launched the first tests for the new function in May of this year. Users within the test group used the new Conversation Settings for interviews, discussions, sharing opinions and announcements. The behavior of these users and the results of feedback interviews and surveys have shown Twitter that the new settings features can help people feel safer and better protected from spam and abuse in their tweets. At the same time, they have led to better conversations as more of your thoughts are shared. And, of course, it is still possible to see the other points of view.
Since Twitter is for public conversation, it is very important that people can see different perspectives. Twitter is therefore continuing to work on making it easier for people to find the complete conversation history via retweets with comments. A new label is also being tested to clearly indicate when the new Conversation Settings are being used.

Larger discussion groups planned
Twitter will continue to update the new tweet settings based on user feedback. In the coming months, Twitter also plans to add an option to invite more people to a conversation that has already started. In addition, there will be clear notifications for users when they are invited to a conversation with the new settings, as well as further options to view the entire conversation history.
